Designing the need to walk

I think this has been one of the longest unannounced pauses from blogging I have ever taken, if not the longest. I have almost magically became hyperproductive and didn’t procrastinate at all. Writing blog posts usually falls into procrastination, so, yeah. Anyways, I did do some blogging related stuff (two things) and I can’t wait to reveal them to the world, but bureaucracy is killing me.

Unpopular stereotypes

ps3 controllerWhat I actually wanted to write about is something I wrote about a year ago and it made a lot of people angry – gaming. Basically, I analyzed a popular stereotype that says gamers are fat and socially awkward. If a stereotype forces me to write something, it means I completely disagree, but over the course of the article I actually changed my opinion and did conclude it’s very bad for health.

I’d like to announce I might change my opinion about that in the near future. One of the only games I actually like is The Sims series and there are those gaming goggles my Sims used to have. It’s a cool gadget from the future that can quickly fill their fun need, except it’s not from the future anymore!

International CES (Consumer Electronics Show) has come to an end. I normally wouldn’t care for it because teachers can’t afford three-meter-wide (10 ft) TVs, and even if they could, it would look ridiculous in 30 square meters (320 sq. ft) apartments. However, I stumbled upon a SourceFedNERD video where Omni by Virtuix was featured and I was left speechless.

Did you watch the video? Good, skip to the next paragraph, NOW! Basically, Omni is a system that enables you to run on a frictionless surface while wearing goggles and experiencing a digital reality. A great plus is that it should fit in your living room.

Bones are for moving

First there was Nintendo Wii, a gaming platform whose creators we’ll be thanking one day because our children will have firsthand understanding of what bones are for.

Now there’s something that will be able to make them run! And it costs less than a bike and a treadmill together! And it seems to me you can also use it as a baby walker! What an amazing thing! And I’m not joking!

Seriously, every fourth person in the world is overweight, and one in ten people is obese. The rate of obesity rises way faster then the rate of malnutrition drops. Obesity is on it’s way to become the world’s biggest serial killer, even though I can’t remember any celebrity that has overeaten to death.

Leave a comment